Home / Adult Dating / What are Georgia laws for adult dating a minor?

What are Georgia laws for adult dating a minor?

I read this and some people say it’s completely illegal. Others say it’s okay if a minor has the consent of adultes.Je know with certainty whether a minor and an adult have sex while it is illegal. What I am trying to understand is that it is illegal for them to date, kiss, hold hands, this kind of thing that love chiot.Tous websites, info on whether this would useful. Thank you!

3 comments

  1. There are no laws against dating. There are obviously laws against sex or any inappropriate touching.

  2. stop eating people, dammit

    First, how old is the adult and how old is the minor? Statutory rape laws are designed to protect 14 year olds from 45 year olds, not to protect 17 year olds from 19 year olds. Most states have exceptions for situations between someone who’s an “older child” and someone who’s “barely an adult.”

    Here’s a pretty good index to state statutes; you can look up Georgia law there:

    http://topics.law.cornell.edu/wex/state_statutes

    I’ve never heard of any law against hand-holding, however. 😉

  3. Georgia recently changed its laws, where prior the age of consent was 16 (it had even been 14 at one point) now it has been moved up to 18. As a general rule while “Dating” might not seem to be a problem, Georgia also has the “no consent” law that basically states Minors under the age of 18 can’t give consent. This means that even if no sexual activity takes place, at any time the parents of said minor can claim it did, and it’s up to the “adult” dating the child to prove that it didn’t. I live near GSP (Georgia State Prison) and can honestly say that’s where an adult would chance ending up. On the inside, they’d be considered pedophiles, and fair targets by the inmates.

    In short, if they’re not 18, then don’t chance it.

Scroll To Top